Saturday, January 21, 2012


Format: 2CD, 34 tracks, 157 min 54 sec
            Disc 1: 79:00; Disc 2: 78:54

Disc 1:
1. Back In The Saddle
2. Big Ten Inch Record
3. Three Mile Smile
4. Reefer Head Woman
5. Dream On
7. Walk This Way
8. Milk Cow Blues
9. Rats In The Cellar
10. Toys In The Attic
11. Train Kept A Rollin'
12. Guitar Solo
13. Same Old Song And Dance
14. Draw The Line
15. Chip Away The Stone
16. Sweet Emotion
17. Dude (Looks Like A Lady)
18. Sheila

Disc 2:
1. Rats In The Cellar
2. Same Old Song And Dance
3. Permanent Vacation
4. Mama Kin
5. Hangman Jury
6. Monkey On My Back
7. Don't Get Mad Get Even
8. Dream On
9. Love In An Elevator
10. Dude (Looks Like A Lady)
11. Walk This Way
12. Chip Away The Stone '87
13. Love Me Two Times '88
14. Come Together '78
15. Rag Doll
16. No Surprise

Recorded at:
Disc 1:
1-12, Stage West, Hartford, CT on June 12, 1980.
13, ? (Cal Jam II?)
14, Upper Darby, PA from March 26 1978
15, ? (Cal Jam II?)
16, California Jam II, Ontario Speedway, Ontario, CA, March, 18, 1978.
17, remixes from 1987 (Dude This Way? Urban Dude Mix?)
18, Worcester, MA March 12 1986 (the concert that is on the Classics Live Complete bootleg)

Disc 2:
1-11, Hammersmith Odeon, November 15 1989 (although out of order)
12, this sounds different from the two versions previously released (on Gems and Pandora's Box). It sounds newer, so it might indeed be from 1987, as claimed.
13, this might be the original version from Less than Zero - I'm not sure.
14, this is the Greatest Hits version. Can't work out why it's included here.
15, Hampton, VA from November 16 1987 (the concert that is on the Virginia Connection bootleg, among others)
16, Worcester, MA March 12 1986 (the concert that is on the Classics Live Complete bootleg)

Excellent collection of FM stereo broadcasts from 1978-1988 plus various studio and demo recordings.

Disc 1: While Track 16 does seem to be from the Cal Jam 2, Draw The Line (Track 14) is definitely NOT. It is from Upper Darby, PA from March 26 1978 - the same track that appears on the official Live Bootleg album and on bootlegs such as The Ultimate Killer Show. I'm not sure where SOSAD and Chip Away The Stone (Tracks 13 and 15) come from, but I'm fairly positive they are not from Cal Jam 2, either.

Disc 1: The Hartford concert is a KBFH FM broadcast which features Crespo on guitar during their A Rut In The Nights Tour.
CD Lists the concert as being Hartford 78 and the track Reefer Head Woman as Desperate Woman Blues.
Three of the Cal Jam II Numbers are available on the official California Jam II 2 album (Columbia 1978) but Sweet Emotion is previously unreleased.
Of the unreleased studio sessions, the Sheila session is likely to be 1985. This CD disc has to be one of the longest ever with 79 minutes of music cramped on it.

Disc 2: The London concert is listed incorrectly as 1990. There has been some reordering of the tracks from the original Radio 1 FM Broadcast with Big Ten Inch Record omitted.
Chip Away The Stone recording is believed to be the studio recording from 1978 that appeared as a US single and latter appeared on Gems.
Love Me Two Times, the Doors cover from 1988, can also be found on the Less Than Zero soundtrack from 1990.
The Come Together 1978 recording is that they released as a US single and appeared on Greatest Hits.

No comments:

Post a Comment